Japan's Daigo "The Beast" Umehara, winner of Evolution 2009's Street Fighter IV competition, is also the winner of this year's Super Street Fighter IV tournament at the Evo Championship series, besting Ricky Ortiz last night in an exciting match between his Ryu and Ortiz's Rufus -- you can watch a video of the match above.

Justin Wong, one of North America's finest Street Fighter players and Umehara's rival at Evo's grand finals last year, was nowhere to be seen in the final eight group after his Rufus received a surprise early knock-out from the competition by Taiwanese Adon player Gamerbee -- that exhilarating match is after the break.

Last night also saw the announcement of Evolution Japan, an upcoming collaboration event in Tokyo organized by the staff of Evolution and Japanese Street Fighter tournament GodsGarden, held on September 11 and 12 the weekend before the Tokyo Game Show and Super Battle Opera.

You can see the Top 8 results for all of the Evo 2010 featured games -- Super Street Fighter IV, Tekken 6, Super Street Fighter II HD Remix, Tatsunoko vs. Capcom, Marvel vs. Capcom 2, and Melty Blood -- after the break.

Super Street Fighter IV — Top 8
1. Daigo Umehara (Ryu)
2. EG.Ricky Ortiz (Rufus, Chun-Li)
3. Infiltration (Akuma)
4. Mike Ross (E. Honda)
5. Bruce “GamerBee” Hsiang (Adon)
5. Vance “Vangief” Wu (Zangief)
7. Henry Cen (E. Honda, Dhalsim)
7. Shizza (Chun-Li)

Tekken 6 — Top 8
1. Nin
2. Rip
3. Mr. Naps
4. Devil Jim
5. jfj
5. Tokido
7. Crow
7. GMMA Kor

Super Street FIghter II HD Remix — Top 8
1. Snake Eyes
2. DGV
3. Afrolegends
4. Daigo
5. Afro Cole
5. Tokido
7. Alex Valle
7. Ryry

Super SF4 Women’s Invitational — Top 4
1. AAA Kayane
2. Burnyourbra
3. Yellow Gal
4. Lina

Tatsunoko vs. Capcom — Top 8
1. EG Marn
2. KBeast
3. EG Justin Wong
4. Kurasa
5. Psychochronic
5. Royal Flush
7. skisonic
7. Keits

Marvel vs. Capcom 2 — Top 8
1. EG Justin Wong
2. EMP Santhrax
3. Clockw0rk
4. EMP Yipes
5. Neo
5. Crizzle
7. Chaos Nightwolf
7. Regency Rob

Melty Blood — Top 8
1. Yoichiro “Garu” Aruga
2. Stephen “Lord Knight” Barthelemy
3. Antonio “Kusanagi” Medrano
4. Byron “HF Blade” Barzabal
5. Brandon “Brandino” Lee
5. Yuji “Yat” Tanaka
7. James Xie
7. Eric “Numakie” Gutierrez

[Via Evo Championship Series]