When Is A Game Blog Not A True Game Blog?
April 29, 2007 2:05 PM | Simon Carless
When it's a game blog that pirates its content, of course. I'd been aware for a while (by checking Technorati, and from a couple of tip-offs) that there's at least one blog out there which just reprints GameSetWatch posts wholesale, but I was horrified to find out this weekend that several commenters/authors have started posting in these fake blogs, because they don't know where the story originated.
Specifically, Pro Game News, which also reprints content from Joystiq and Xbox 360 Fanboy, is the worst offender - I found GSW story subject William Volk commenting on the ProGameNews version of his story, as did Psychochild recently, ack! This is very not cool.
Another offender is TheGamerBlog.com - and sure, they just repost wholesale from RSS feeds, and I guess we should be flattered that they like GSW enough to nick our stuff, but enough is enough. Other bloggers should probably check those sites to see if they need to take action.
I've taken the first step of contacting the offending domain owners through their WHOIS contact info, and if I don't hear back soon, I'll presumably take it to the next step (ISP abuse contact and/or lawyers). [Also I'm hoping that this post gets reposted on the offending sites, which will be most amusing!]
[UPDATE: Aha, this post indeed makes it to the front page of ProGameNews. PGN, 'You are a pirate!'. Looking forward to hearing from you. As for TheGamerBlog, they wrote back pretty quickly, commenting: "TheGamerBlog has killed the autoblog feature. We were unaware this wordpress plugin was doing something wrong."
Looks like they're talking about a plugin by Elliott Back which is referenced here, it's called 'Autoblog', and it's explained: "This plugin is potentially dangerous: it converts xml into Wordpress posts. It could be used to run an aggregator site, or it might be used by spammers to push high-profit keywords into their blogs." Great!
And to be clear - 'reblogging' by referencing another site and linking to it is part of weblogs (see the Eyebeam reBlog or any linklog) but these automated scrapers - which both of the above mentioned blogs clearly are - are unfortunately lame attempts to make money from Google Adwords, etc, by just plain stealing content.]
Categories:








16 Comments
I've encountered this phenomenon for other Fanboy sites before, but never even thought about doing anything about it. It seemed like one of those things like spam and 'punch the monkey' ads that may or may not have a person attached, and can't be messed with. But you give me hope that they can be dealt with! CONSIDER YOURSELF A HERO.
JC Fletcher | April 29, 2007 12:26 PM
I've never copy-and-pasted a entire article word for word, but lifting information from a site and adding your own commentary is what 60% of the videogame bloggers do. that don't include sites like GSW,Gamasutra,Joystiq, kotaku (oh wait, it does) or Destructoid, but even these sites take content and regurgitate it. Giving credit and linking back saves them from scrutiny.
Original content is difficult credit, since it spreads like wildfire on NeoGAF or any of the millions of gaming blogs...
el moco | April 29, 2007 1:09 PM
Interestingly, Lifehacker had an article on dealing with content thieves just now:
http://lorelle.wordpress.com/2006/04/10/what-do-you-do-when-someone-steals-your-content/
John H. | April 29, 2007 1:42 PM
"I've never copy-and-pasted a entire article word for word, but lifting information from a site and adding your own commentary is what 60% of the videogame bloggers do."
So long as it is clear you are citing another blog/site/source and you link back to the original source, you are doing what bloggers do. (I hesitate to call any site that simply repeats news without original commentary a "blog".)
The problem is when gameblogs derive almost all of their content from scanning the RSS feeds of other sites and not making it obvious that the material originates elsewhere.
Troy Goodfellow | April 29, 2007 1:57 PM
Hm, the text got cut off. Broken into two lines:
http://lorelle.wordpress.com/2006/04/10/
what-do-you-do-when-someone-steals-your-content/
John H. | April 29, 2007 1:59 PM
I am sure that Pro Game news justifies it by the fact that GSW provides its articles wrapped in XML for "syndication" by anyone who wants them.
This seems to be the biggest flaw of RSS: RSS has no standard way to describe useage permissions of its content, AFAIK (please correct me if I'm mistaken there).
Some blogs *are* meant to be syndicated wholesale and reposted on other sites; while others are offering RSS feeds just as a convenience to its readers. But I've never seen a way to specify this in the feed itself.
They are being a-holes but it's tough to make an argument that they're thieves when RSS feeds are provided. We need a better way to make reposting permissions clearer.
hanford | April 29, 2007 2:00 PM
Nice Lazytown pic. ;)
Kat | April 29, 2007 3:21 PM
A lot of these types of sites are really nothing more than spam sites. Copying content from across the web in a way to improve page rank, google standing, and to make it seem authentic... when, really, all they are doing is pushing ads, invisible links, and other shady shit.
Not saying that the ProGameWhatever site is such, but it certainly fits the type.
nowak | April 29, 2007 3:43 PM
Your wish has been granted...
Pro Game News has this posted on their front page. Thought you guys would like to know. ;)
Ryan | April 29, 2007 4:25 PM
wow. so it's totally automated, huh????
roboblogger....
el moco | April 29, 2007 5:09 PM
Ugh, I've had this happen to me a couple times. HDRL content has appeared on a bunch of other sites. I only find out about them because wordpress does a pingback on anyone that links to me, and it seems quite a few sites just vomit out my content on their own site, and insert a tiny link at the bottom. Truly disgusting stuff.
Nayan Ramachandran | April 29, 2007 10:06 PM
I hate it when this happens. This is exactly why I don't have all my article content available via RSS -- only an excerpt. I recommend doing the same, Simon.
What's even worse, though, is when someone manually copies (i.e. no RSS) your entries and pastes them on your blog, complete with pictures, under their name! It's happened to me a few times, and boy it sucks.
RedWolf | April 30, 2007 8:25 AM
Yeah, these auto blogging sites are a bit annoying-- imagine my surprise at seeing my columns at 411Mania.com lifted entire; but they've had no real impact on my column. I figure, hey, at least it gets me more eyeballs for my work.
"What's even worse, though, is when someone manually copies (i.e. no RSS) your entries and pastes them on your blog, complete with pictures, under their name! It's happened to me a few times, and boy it sucks."
When I wrote a weekly sales blog, there was some Pampered Chef BBS that lifted my post entire, but included no attribution or my name or anything. THAT annoyed me.
A few people did that with my 8-bit Lit and Gaming generation articles. Tat ticked me off, too.
Shawn Struck | May 1, 2007 8:15 AM
yeah, geez, i just got two incoming links to my blog from websites that stole matt's column. there be pirates in these waters, yarr!
dessgeega | May 1, 2007 3:07 PM
I thought this might be interesting: PGN is currently down, with the message "Closed due to technical difficulties. webmaster[at]progamenews.com"
Coincidence? Hmmm....
Tetsuo | May 2, 2007 10:52 PM
Sorry about this. Didn't know this wasn't the original source of the story. Wanted to clarify some of the reported stories.
William Volk | September 24, 2007 3:11 AM